pilgrimage blogging to commence!

lookee

mom and aunt

I am finally going to start blogging about my pilgrimage to Israel, Jordan and Egypt last month. My Mae was generous enough to invite me and my two sisters to go the Holy Land with her. She wore each one of down one-by-one until we agreed. And later on she even managed to convince her own sister who is a missionary  nun in Mozambique.

There will be lots of photos to go along with this travel blog and in fact some up are up on my flickr stream already. A few things to note:

(1) this was a pilgrimage, which means that it was not about travelling in comfort or typically touristy pursuits

(2) that said the reality did skirt around being more tour-like than pilgrimage-like and, in many ways, our group were not frugal living pilgrims

(3) I enjoyed my trip, i found many places to be deeply spiritual and I absolutely loved the people I got to go with. But there were aspects that I disliked intensely in relation to being part of an organised group. This travel blog is not intended as a review of the organising company but, at the same, I don’t plan to censor event for fear of dinging anyone’s reputation so I will not refer to the parish, tour company or tour guides by their real names.

Tags:

2 Responses to “pilgrimage blogging to commence!”

  1. Rudy Neeser Says:

    Am looking forward to hearing about it all 🙂 I’ve been looking at the pictures and they’re really great.

  2. Craig Says:

    Ooh, sounds like we’re in for some interesting posts then Ms. Ilda – looking forward to them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

