2009, a big year of threes

They say good things come in threes and 2009 was a year of threes for me and it was definitely good. I don’t think its likely that I will get to say this again but I spent my year living in three different cities and in a perennial Summer: Seattle, Bangalore and Cape Town in basically three month chunks. I also visited three cities I had never seen before: Bangalore, Doha and Portland. I started in Seattle (Nov ’08 – Jan ‘o8) then went home to Cape Town for a week before going to Bangalore for Feb-May for an amazing internship with MSRI where I made videos about domestic workers in a language I couldn’t speak, met wonderful new friends whom I intend to keep and got flowers put in my hair by a stranger as a treat…

India!

flowers at Malleswaram night market

…then home to Cape Town for April to July where met my first niece, Jessy, who is one to catch your eye, not to mention little Cole…

jessy 'n cole

jessy 'n cole

…and then off to summery Seattle (July-October) to spend the looong daylight hours working the PhD and setting up our first house, see here are the keys…

keys!

happy bunny key day

and, finally back to Cape Town (October-December) for a brilliant hot summer of PhD progress, fun family mess (like my dad turning 88 and Christmas) and lots of busy weekends of friends and little rest!

Right now I am back in just in time to ring in 2010 in our cosy little house with Dave and Luisa 😀 Goodbye 2009, I daren’t hope I’ll have another like you sometime.

Leave a Reply

